Even if you were not at fault, most people involved in serious crashes find that they need to access their own car insurance coverage.
Here’s what to do.
What to look for in your car insurance policy
In your auto insurance policy, look for the “Policy Declarations” page.
This is a summary of your policy, including:
- Policy number and dates;
- Types of coverage;
- Deductibles; and
- Policy coverage amounts.
The Policy Declarations page is the quickest way to understand your benefits after a collision.
Look for Personal Injury Protection, Collision Coverage, and Liability Coverage.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
PIP pays for initial medical expenses, wage loss, and other costs.
This coverage is mandatory in Oregon insurance policies, but not in Washington.
If you have PIP—or Medical Payments coverage—you will want to provide this information to any doctors or medical providers.
PIP may also cover wage loss, household assistance, and other expenses.
This policy add-on covers your property damage: it may be the fastest way to have your vehicle repaired or replaced after a crash.
If the other driver was at fault, your insurance will likely seek reimbursement from the adverse driver’s insurance company for these costs.
You will be responsible for your deductible.
Washington and Oregon require all drivers to have a minimum auto insurance policy with $25,000 in coverage for death or injury to another person, and $50,000 in coverage total.
But, if the driver that caused the crash is uninsured, or their insurance doesn’t cover all of the costs and damages, then you may need to rely on your own Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM).
This is some basic information, which is not intended to provide you with any legal advice or opinions. You should annually talk with your insurance broker to review your coverage and make any necessary adjustments to your policy.
Questions? Contact Coluccio Law.
For more information, see: